Downtown & Village Designation Program

The Vermont Downtown Program was established in 1994 to provide technical assistance and training to communities and help them develop skills and strategies for their downtown revitalization efforts. It is part of the Vermont Department of Historic Preservation.

Downtown Designation
The 1998 Downtown Development Act provides substantial support for downtown revitalization. Towns that receive downtown designation under the Act are eligible for a number of benefits, including tax credits, loans and grants from various state agencies. To qualify, towns must develop a comprehensive revitalization strategy for the downtown district and demonstrate broad-based community support. The strategy must involve a long-term commitment to enhancing economic opportunities, preserving historic buildings, and improving public spaces and infrastructure in the commercial district. Interested communities should contact the Vermont Downtown Program for more information. While participation in the Vermont Downtown Program's Comprehensive Training Program is recommended, it is not required for downtown designation.

Village Center Designation
The Second Downtown Development Act (2002) created a new level of designation for Village Centers. Village centers are eligible for benefits including tax credits and priority consideration from other state programs and agencies.

Technical Assistance from NRPC
NRPC can help you apply for Downtown or Village designation. Most of the towns in our region are of a size where Village Designation is most appropriate. To date we have applied for and successfully received village designation for 7 villages throughout our region. We can assist you with the entire process, including education about the program, application and mapping. For more information on how NRPC can help you, please contact Catherine Dimitruk at 802-524-5958 or email at

Designations in the NRPC Region
The following City has Downtown Designation status in our region: St. Albans City.

The following Towns and Villages have Village Designation status in our region: Alburgh, Enosburg Falls, Fairfax, Montgomergy, North Hero, Richford and Swanton.

For more information on the Downtown/Village Designation program use the following links: Vermont Downtown Program.